Resistance is Futile…

I was thinking today as I was driving to a meeting on why so many teachers I work with are so hesitant to embrace current technological trends and use technology in their classrooms in facets other than glorified chalkboards and pencils and paper. When I returned home this evening I did some web browsing and searching aka “googling”, and found some interesting articles pertaining to this topic. One is a great resource called “dangerously-irrelevant”. It contains links to blogs and rss feeds that pertain to this topic. It seems that a lot of the contributors share my concern and frustration. I think that many educators seek out reasons to not use 21st century learning tools, instead of finding reasons to use them. What I mean is this, if I discuss with my fellow teachers how I have a day set aside where students listen to podcasts and find web articles about current events and then present their findings to each other in a discussion board online, many question why I am wasting valuable time teaching core content by doing “extra” activities. Just because the mode of instruction is less “traditional” and we, as a class do not have our noses in a book, does not mean it is an irrelevant activity. My students are engaged, communicating, asking empirical questions, voicing concerns and opinions, and providing feedback to each other. Is this not a justifiable classroom activity then? Comments anyone?

About moriquendi23

I am a high school history teacher in west-central PA. I am also the producer/director of the schools drama plays and musicals, the scholastic quiz team coach, and assistant marching band director. Needless to say...I'm a pretty busy guy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Resistance is Futile…

  1. Joe Strittmatter says:

    Carl, I came across this blog and thought you might find it interesting. It’s called The Firewall of Fear and discusses some of the same ideas you mentioned in your blog. http://www.assortedstuff.com/?p=3613

    • moriquendi23 says:

      Thanks for the link Joe. I don’t know about you, but at times it is very disheartening how more experienced teachers sort of give 21st Century Learning the cold shoulder and become so negative about learning to use new technology in their classrooms. I look forward to getting more ideas from you.

  2. Kelly says:

    I see the same thing in my schools, some are on board while others are not and they usually have a reason as to why they aren’t, but I think it has a lot to do with change. Many people don’t like change but if we want our students to be competitive in the new global society we have to change. I think your activity is great!

Leave a Reply

